To be a centre of excellence in the management of elections and referendums.
Zimbabwe Electoral CommisionZimbabwe Electoral CommisionZimbabwe Electoral Commision
1 Nelson Mandela Avenue, Harare, Zimbabwe
Zimbabwe Electoral CommisionZimbabwe Electoral CommisionZimbabwe Electoral Commision

PWD Senatorial By-Election Conducted

The Zimbabwe Electoral Commission has been applauded by various People With Disabilities (PWD) organisations for professionally conducting the PWD senatorial by-election held on 14 May 2022 at the Harare International Conference Centre.

Nasper Manyau emerged the winner in the tightly contested by-election.  A total of seven (7) candidates contested. Director Elections and Training Mr Japhet Murenje presided over the by-election. Also in attendance were ZEC Deputy Chairperson Ambassador Rodney Kiwa, Commissioner Joyce Laetitia Kazembe, Commissioner Netsai Mushonga and Director Legal Services, Ms Shamiso Chahuruva.

Former Senator Anna Shiri, who lost to Nasper Manyau by a margin of one vote congratulated the winner and ZEC for conducting the elections in a fair, transparent and professional manner.

Several delegates who were part of the process from the beginning right up to the end when the results were finally announced also echoed her sentiments.

The senatorial seat was left vacant following the passing on of the incumbent, Senator Rejoice Timire on 11 August 2022.

The delay in filling the vacancy was attributed to Covid-19 restrictions and the suspension of electoral activities.

The by-election was held in terms of section 120 (d) of the Constitution and the Seventh Schedule of the Electoral Act [ Chapter2: 13] as it relates to the Senate disability quota, the composition of Electoral College, qualifications for candidates, nomination process, campaigning and voting.

Delegates were drawn from 58 organisations that represent people with disabilities.

Results of the PWD Senatorial By-Election

Name of Candidate Votes Received
Alice Chimwanza 06
Cathrene Daniso 04
Stembeni Manduna 45
Nasper  Manyau 58
Vongai Mutokoti 04
Ethel Mhonde 05
Annah Shiri 57